For the love of books

 So first the nosedive and now….freefall !

It is so much more easier to start a new venture than to sustain and keep it afloat.So unlike all my unfinished projects, my intricate embroideries, those massive cross stitch works, those half knit sweaters which my mother and grandmother finally completed, I do want to write this blog. To share my love for reading, to pen down those thoughts that zip across my mind at the most inopportune moments( like when I am teaching my younger one grammar  or tables or reprimanding my maid for the umpteenth time about a chore left undone) . These ideas fly past like snitches from a  Harry Potter movie. Here now and gone the next.

During those so long gone carefree days of school and college I was an avid reader. fiction usually but cover to back cover in one go.  This love for reading was a direct genetic unmutated transfer from my maternal grandfather.   A handsome  septuagenarian bibliophile. though coming from the old school of thought and very hard earned money he did not believe in spending frivolously but books were his passion. ans so were mine. He would say no to many things but books ,never. He initiated us all brothers and sisters into our affair with books, book fairs, soviet publications ,readers digest, amar chitra katha.

Today when I dust my son’s book shelves, there are many books there but all gathering dust. I just feel  a prick sometimes when my sons reach for the i-pad before they reach for the books. But then Who is to blame? It is us who have put the i-pad there instead of books. I am hoping against hope that some day the action shall be reversed.But all in good time .And as the saying goes… you can take the horse to the waters but you cannot make it drink… There will be a day when my horses shall drink the elixir .. and so hope I must like all  mothers like me….cause i’m just another woman

This entry was posted in family, homour. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For the love of books

  1. Pratyush says:

    Very refreshing read at the end of a long day. Brought back vivid memories of childhood. I agree with your concerns and thank god that books (with out advertisement interruptions) still exist.
    Though i must admit that I am reading this on my iPad too !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yoshasingh says:

    Yes nothing to beat the written word.some concessions granted like the ipad

    Like

  3. Shuchi says:

    Truly said,but proud to admit my eldest has inherited her great grandfather’s love of books albeit only novels as of now, the younger one has started of late ,saw her with an Agatha Christie. The youngest brings along all sorts of books for a story session at all odd hours there are times when I comply and others when I distract her guiltily with YouTube story video or the TV .I must try to always keep her interested and fascinated by books it is an amazing hobby.
    What I would love to add is that our grandpa had a child like curiosity to learn anything new even if it meant seeking us kids out about it. He never stopped gaining knowledge at his age I have many dictionaries where his handwritten notes pop up with a small reference to another usage of a word in a different context, loved him and miss him often.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

